Your Average Person Is a Hell of a Lot Smarter Than You Think

I would also say that if you sit down and talk to some of these very ordinary people, they are a lot smarter than you (or I) would think. A lot of them turn their brains up to much higher than normal speed when they talk to me because I imagine they trying to keep up with me on the cerebral highway.

I am always amazed at how fast the average person can get their brain going. I really think that most people operate their brains at about half or 1/3 speed most of the time. You would be amazed at how much the average Joe can ramp it up if he has to. This never fails to surprise me. And it definitely shows that most of us are not operating our brains at top speed or top efficiency most of the time. Maybe there’s a reason for that. Maybe slower is more relaxing and calms you down and makes life easier to cruise through. I won’t knock thinking slowly. There are advantages to most things in the world.

1 Comment

Filed under Intelligence, Psychology

One response to “Your Average Person Is a Hell of a Lot Smarter Than You Think

  1. Jason Y

    I really think that most people operate their brains at about half or 1/3 speed most of the time. You would be amazed at how much the average Joe can ramp it up if he has to. This never fails to surprise me. And it definitely shows that most of us are not operating our brains at top speed or top efficiency most of the time.

    Well, ahem…, that’s what a lot of cultural liberals have always been saying all along. A brain not used is like muscles not used – but we all know cultural left pansies don’t have muscles. har har ha ha.. 😆

Leave a Reply

