Daily Archives: May 10, 2017

No, You Cannot Libel the Dead

NOTE TO COMMENTERS 1:

I am getting tired of saying this over and over, but most of the material below is made up of rumors and my own opinions and theories. None of that is represented as fact. Furthermore, I am not using rumors as reliable sources as has been alleged. I never said they were reliable sources. How reliable is a rumor? That’s for you to determine, but in general a rumor is not considered to be a reliable source, and they are not treated as such below. 

Also when I say I am 100% sure of something, that means that I am 100% sure of it in my own mind. All of us are 100% sure of all sorts of things we cannot prove. That’s the nature of the human condition. We simply assume many things are facts until proven otherwise. Now many of these things that I was completely certain of were later proven to be wrong. Such is the case with many other things people become certain of in their own mind. Once again, when I say I am sure or certain or 100% certain, it means only that I am sure in my own mind. I am not stating that any of these things are facts. They are simply my convictions. Any of all of these firmly held beliefs of mine about this case could possibly will later prove to be false.

The only thing that is represented as fact are statements sourced from LE or the media. If you have issues with rumors, theories, opinions. etc., just quit reading right now and save yourself the heartache. 

NOTE TO COMMENTERS 2:

I thought I made this one thing perfectly clear as Richard Nixon used to say:

I have no sources whatsoever among the families of the girls.

I have no sources whatsoever in LE, local or otherwise. 

There ya go.

What I do have is sources close to the families. These people generally live in Delphi and the surrounding region. So that makes my rumors even more hearsay. I’m not even talking to the families. I am talking to people who talk to the families!

Of course I have no LE sources. I thought I made that clear. Never have. Yes, I have talked to some of them, but of course they didn’t tell me a thing. A couple of times they told me that a certain person was a POI or that a certain person had been cleared with an airtight alibi. I suppose they don’t mind giving out that information. But other than that, they don’t tell me jack. It’s hard enough to even get them to call you back. I think if I asked them if my name was Robert Lindsay, they would say, “I am sorry, but I cannot comment on matters relating to an ongoing investigation.” That’s how bad it is.

So what do I have? Once again, I have sources who are close to LE. They get their information from LE, then they talk to me. So once again this is even more hearsay, as I am not even talking to LE but to the people who are talking to LE.

I really wish people would quit claiming I have LE or family sources. I just don’t. If you think I have these sources, just quit reading my stuff right now and go away. You will not be missed!

NOTE TO COMMENTERS 3: The lies never end. The latest is “Lindsay takes other people’s theories and claims they are his own.” Of course I don’t. This website is nothing but a compendium of rumors from all over the Net regarding this crime. I go through the rumors and try to rank them on a scale of weak to strong. I compare them against other rumors to see which one is better. All sorts of theories have been flying around since day one. I report those too.

The theories are really just more rumors. I’d say the vast majority of the rumor theories reported here were thought up by other people. I find most of my theories on other sites about this crime. That’s how it works, you know. You get theories about the crime from others. Yes, you use your own theories and you use other people’s theories. I really do not have time to down through the list of theories and say where I got them from. I have come up with a few of my own, but even with those, I guess someone else thought of them first. Also a lot of the theories here are also the result of constant brainstorming I do with my fellow sleuths.

The dead cannot currently be defamed under English law. This is because defamation, whether it is libel or slander, is a personal action which cannot be assigned or brought on someone’s behalf. … Similarly, where a person commences defamation proceedings but passes away before a decision is reached, the action is abated.

I am now getting accused of libeling Abigail Williams, a dead person. How am I libeling her? I am accusing the poor thing of having sex!

Anyway, I am not accusing her of anything. I have my ear to the ground for the deepest and best rumors going around right inside of Delphi, and I am in connection with amateur sleuths who are doing some of the best work I have ever seen on this case. These people have reported to me that there is deep longstanding rumor in Delphi that Abigail Williams had a boyfriend for months. He is a 16 year old boy whose name is known. There is also a deep and near-secretive whispered rumor that Abbie was pregnant by this boy.

Who told me these diabolical rumors about this poor, untainted virgin maiden? Two women, Two middle aged women. That’s who’s spreading these vile rumors tarnishing the pure and untrammeled reputation of Miss Abigail Williams.

Go take it up with them. It’s your own gender, the females, who are spreading this stuff. I am just passing it along from someone else.

I’m not accusing anyone of anything. I am just saying that there is a rumor saying this and that. By the way, reporting of rumors is generally immune from libel law also, as long as they are stated as such. It’s almost impossible to win a libel case against any real journalist in the US. The free speech laws have been so widely by court precedent that you have to be pretty horrible to lose a libel suit.

Oh, the horrors! Can you imagine, a teenage girl having sex with a teenage boy! Their reputations would be ruined! I mean, that never happens, ever! Teenage girls never have sex with teenage boys!

We are a terribly puritanical culture when you are said to libel a sexually mature human being for stating the so called damaging information that they…! Oh my God! I can’t say the word because I am such an uptight prude! That word! That evil, gross, sickening word! That they had…they had…sex! Oh no, I said the word! Ew gross! What word? Sex! Shhhhhhhhhhhhh that’s an evil word. Don’t say that word! You will go to Hell! God will strike you down!

All you women screaming that a female can be libeled at all by accusing her of having sex, do you support ISIS? The Taliban? I mean that’s the way they think.

Got news for everyone here. There’s nothing wrong with having sex! There’s nothing wrong with any mature human having sex with another mature human, provided it is legal. I don’t even care if 13 and 14 year old girls have sex. Enough of them do anyway. I would just want them to make sure they don’t get pregnant. You can’t stop enormous natural human drives.

Telling mature people to not have sex is like telling to them to not eat, sleep or drink. Sex is a natural human function. It’s a good thing. It’s not an evil that sends you to Hell as so many women on here seem to think.

And it’s legal for underage teens to have sex with each other. Here in California, they can do it all they want. Nor should there be anything LE can do about it.

Teenagers have free sexual agency and should have the right to express their natural sexual desires and perform their normal sexual functions with other teenagers. Why do you want to make it against the law?

Are you a Puritan? A Victorian? A Comstock? A fuddy duddy? A prig? An uptight person? Are you repressed? Where are your sackcloths? Do you flagellate yourself? Are you frigid? Are you impotent? Do you lie there like a fish? Do you get off three seconds after you are in? Do you insist on doing it in the dark because you are so repressed? Are you a lousy lay? Why do you hate sex so much? Too much religion?

If you enjoy the hard work that goes into this website, please consider a contribution to support the continuation of the site. Donations are the only thing that keep the site operating.

9 Comments

Filed under American, Crime, Culture, Girls, Jailbait, Journalism, Law, Mass Hysterias, Midwest, Regional, Sex, USA