Does LE Have Any Good Suspects in Mind for the Delphi Killings?

Note to commenters 1:

I am getting tired of saying this over and over, but most of the material below is made up of rumors and my own opinions and theories. None of that is represented as fact. Furthermore, I am not using rumors as reliable sources as has been alleged. I never said they were reliable sources. How reliable is a rumor? That’s for you to determine, but in general a rumor is not considered to be a reliable source, and they are not treated as such below. 

The only thing that is represented as fact are statements sourced from LE or the media. If you have issues with rumors, theories, opinions. etc., just quit reading right now and save yourself the heartache. 

Note to commenters 2:

I thought I made this one thing perfectly clear as Richard Nixon used to say:

I have no sources whatsoever among the families of the girls.

I have no sources whatsoever in LE, local or otherwise. 

There ya go.

What I do have is sources close to the families. These people generally live in Delphi and the surrounding region. So that makes my rumors even more hearsay. I’m not even talking to the families. I am talking to people who talk to the families!

Of course I have no LE sources. I thought I made that clear. Never have. Yes, I have talked to some of them, but of course they didn’t tell me a thing. A couple of times they told me that a certain person was a POI or that a certain person had been cleared with an airtight alibi. I suppose they don’t mind giving out that information. But other than that, they don’t tell me jack. It’s hard enough to even get them to call you back. I think if I asked them if my name was Robert Lindsay, they would say, “I am sorry, but I cannot comment on matters relating to an ongoing investigation.” That’s how bad it is.

So what do I have? Once again, I have sources who are close to LE. They get their information from LE, then they talk to me. So once again this is even more hearsay, as I am not even talking to LE but to the people who are talking to LE.

I really wish people would quit claiming I have LE or family sources. I just don’t. If you think I have these sources, just quit reading my stuff right now and go away. You will not be missed!

NOTE TO COMMENTERS 3: The lies never end. The latest is “Lindsay takes other people’s theories and claims they are his own.” Of course I don’t. This website is nothing but a compendium of rumors from all over the Net regarding this crime. I go through the rumors and try to rank them on a scale of weak to strong. I compare them against other rumors to see which one is better. All sorts of theories have been flying around since day one. I report those too.

The theories are really just more rumors. I’d say the overwhelming majority of theories presented here were thought up by other people. I find most of my theories on other sites about this crime. That’s how it works, you know. You get theories about the crime from others. Yes, you use your own theories and you use other people’s theories. I really do not have time to down through the list of theories and say where I got them from. I have come up with a few of my own, but even with those, I guess someone else thought of them first. Also a lot of the theories here are also the result of constant brainstorming I do with my fellow sleuths.

Kathy: Robert,

Do your sources know if LE knows or suspects who is responsible for this horrible crime? Do they believe it is someone local?

No. I do not know. From my own sources, I am hearing that their perception is that LE is baffled and has no clue who did this crime.

I had another source a while back, a Secret Service agent, who said that they know who did it, but they are just building a case against him. Who this suspect was, I have no idea. Also I was told this maybe one month ago.

I am hearing so many contradictory things about this that I do not know what to think.

From people who are not my sources, I am hearing two people saying that LE has their guy. Both rumors have merely one proponent and as such are weak rumors.

1. Ivan Brumbaugh

Obviously one is this Eric Alter who is fingering Ivan Brumbaugh, who he insists is the suspect and who he claims that LE are just wrapping up their case against. However, reading between the lines, what I got was that Eric Alter knows for certain that Brumbaugh did this crime, but possibly LE does not share his views and is not taking Brumbaugh seriously.

I have several other people who also like Brumbaugh as a suspect, but they have no good sources for that information. Personally, I am very dubious that Brumbaugh is the man who killed these girls especially now that we have two separate DNA sets back representing apparently two killers, neither of which is Brumbaugh. Mr. Brumbaugh, in my opinion, seems to be guilty of contaminating a crime scene, but that’s not a crime last time I checked. Incidentally, Brumbaugh has completely lawyered up and seems to be holding out in his home.

Certainly Brumbaugh has some dubious events in his past. He has an old child molestation conviction from the late 1970’s, but we know nothing about this charge and he does not have to register on the RSO list because it happened too long ago. I am quite certain that Brumbaugh is neither a pedophile nor a hebephile. If anything, he seems to be a womanizer and a playboy who continued to date attractive young women far into middle age. There are suggestions of strong bisexual tendencies, but there is no good evidence for this either. Brumbaugh is certainly not pedohebephilic, nor is he a homosexual. He seems to be mostly attracted to mature females, emphasis on the plural.

Several years back, Brumbaugh’s ex-wife’s house burned down, and the woman barely escaped with her life. The fire was mysterious and apparently arson, but no one was ever charged in the crime.

Brumbaugh is a Shunned Amish, yes, but this means nothing. Apparently half of the Amish community are these Shunned Amish and the Shunned Amish and the regular Amish continue to associate with each other, with the exception that the Shunned tend to be a little wilder.

There are allegations of problems with women, anger towards teenage girls who do not engage in proper behavior and an angry man subject to explosive rages.

I would add that Brumbaugh is very familiar with the Mears property on which they girls were raped and killed and almost certainly is familiar with the barn that was used.

The source for all of this behavior is Mr. Alter. Not one person has corroborated Alter’s charges.

Brumbaugh is said to have a rock solid alibi for the time of the girls’ abduction. Alter says that it is only Brumbaugh’s girlfriend who is  providing the alibi, and she would lie for him.

Personally I regard this man as a most unlikely suspect to commit such a horrific crime at age 63, the first such crime of his life. One simply doesn’t wake up one day at age 60 and decide to be a serial killer. It just doesn’t work that way. From what I know about this man, I simply do not feel that he has it in him to commit a crime like this and further he seems quite an unlikely suspect to have done such a crime. He just doesn’t seem like the type.

What I am getting is that LE is not taking the Brumbaugh matter seriously and does not seem to regard him as a serious suspect.

2. Unknown RSO from the Surrounding Area

A woman met with LE the other day and showed them photos of an RSO living within 50-100 miles of Delphi. Photos included him lifting weights. Her vibe was that LE felt that this was their man. I have no idea who this man is. There was said to be a Youtube video accusing him of this crime but it has been taken down.

3. Cleared Suspects

Ron Logan’s Son

Logan’s son is said to have disappeared since the killings. This is not so. Instead he is simply  laying low due to the media circus. I am told that he has been cleared by LE.

David James Lucas

Another man is a David James Lucas, fat good old hillbilly guy who likes to drink beer and has a huge belly. A video was made accusing Lucas  of being the Bridge Guy. However, my information is that Lucas is innocent and has been cleared by LE. Sadly the people of Delphi were being so accusative and threatening towards Lucas that he has since left town for his own safety.

Cemetery Groundskeeper

The cemetery groundskeeper has been mentioned as a possible suspect. We sleuthed him out and found a thin older man with a kindly face. Not Bridge Guy at all.

Conclusion: LE Clueless

Some of my investigators have been conducting interviews with LE in the area. These usually go 45 minutes or so. They come away from these interviews saying that LE has its hands up in the air, and they do not have a clue who did this. I am also hearing this from a number of other people just based on a general vibe. Also there have been a number of news stories lately that seem to be giving off the vibe that LE is utterly clueless about who did this.

At the moment, there is no good, hard evidence that LE has any known suspect in mind who are they are building a case against. Perhaps they do, but we do not have sufficient evidence to suggest that.

My general feeling is that LE is baffled and has its hands in the air with the palms up, without any idea of who the killer or killers might be.

28 Comments

Filed under Crime, Law enforcement, Midwest, Regional, Serial Killers, USA

28 responses to “Does LE Have Any Good Suspects in Mind for the Delphi Killings?

  1. Lotus

    I want to raise a topic. Around the U.S., there have been a series of killings of two women or girls who were together in a park or on a trail. Google will help you find these things. Several of these incidents were lesbian couples. There are some men who become very incensed when they see two women or girls together having fun. Personally, I think this is spurred on by right wing hate radio and TV and other public figures, such as Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, Donald Trump, and other hate-filled males.

    I wonder if Abby and Libby could have been seen by this man and targeted by him because he was filled with rage at seeing them having fun together on the bridge. I wonder if in his mind, they were lesbians, “feminazis,” SJWs, or other things that hate-filled men call women and girls.

    The police in this case surely know how much vile hate talk was on the recording made by Liberty. Was there no hate talk, some hate talk, lots of vile, vulgar hate talk? If there was some, knowing what it was would be helpful in pinpointing a possible killer. We don’t need to hear the recording, simply knowing what the words are could help identify the killer.

    Most people involved in systematic hate are stuck in a rut and repeatedly use the same words of hate when they are engaging in attacking someone. Most men have certain favorite catchphrases that they use to degrade women and those catchphrases are used repeatedly and are not related to the woman being attacked, because the hate emanates from the man and not from whomever his latest target is.

    What I am saying here is that it might be useful for the police to release some more information, such as some key words used by the killer, if any are available.

    • Chipscat

      Very true releasing that could be so, so helpful. Once a phrase is part of your speech day-to-day it’s really hard to quit saying it.

    • Dlux

      Lotus,

      Rush Limbaugh, Donald Trump, and Sean Hannity are not hate filled males and in fact, are quite opposite as they have dedicated their lives to fight hate filled males.

      You seem to be a very smart lady, but you ma’am are incorrect on this one.

      • Lotus

        Please do not address any further comments at or about me. I thought that was made clear last night. I consider you a very likely the killer of these two girls. Leave me alone.

        • Dlux

          Hahaha. I’m glad you get a free pass to say anything you want to anyone and then if someone disagrees with you they are a liar, killer, junkie, and alcoholic.

          Also, I will address anything as I see fit. If I agree, I will tell you. If I disagree, I will tell you.

          What I won’t do is accuse someone of a heinous, unsolved murder of two innocent teenage girls because they disagree with me.

        • paula

          you Lotus, seem to PROJECT your hate and bitterness on other people….why do you do that?….accusing others of hate, and yet you hate….as far as I know, none of the people you mention have advocated assassination such as many on your left do and do it openly….

          Please be careful of slenderizing these public figures……

        • Lotus

          Paula, you seem to either be hallucinating or you are this DLux person using another name. I don’t care which it is.

          DO NOT address me with your hate comments. STOP. Your actions amount to cyberstalking on this comments board. STOP.

        • Dlux

          Hate comments? I would love to see those. I didn’t send any. You called me a liar, killer, drunk, drug addict, and now cyber stalker. I told you that I hadn’t seen a gun shaped iPad before and that your theory sounded a bit crazy…but didn’t think that sounded hateful.

          Also, I do not know Paula and Robert can confirm we are separate posters.

          On a side note, I think this case is cold and LE has no idea who committed these murders.

        • Look you folks can vote to throw each other off, you know. Lotus is piling up enemies here and her enemies can vote to toss her. She needs X amount of votes and then she gets tossed. I will not toss her or her enemies off because they are not violating Comments Rules. If they are not violating Rules, I can’t throw them off no matter how badly I want to!

          Anyway, if people see others voting to toss Lotus, they can either vote to toss her also, or they may vote to keep her on. Votes to keep cancel votes to toss and vice versa.

          So if Lotus gets say 3 votes to toss and 3 votes to keep, she now has 0 votes to toss.

          If Lotus has some enemies on here, she can vote to toss them also, and if she has friends who agree, she can accumlate votes for that. At the same time, the friends of her enemies can vote to keep.

          This site is run on the principle of radical democracy. I hardly even run this comments section. You all do. And a lot of you even purchased a subscription which enables you to actually run this space democratically as a co-owner.

          Anyway, just letting you know the options.

        • Lotus

          Robert, it does not help to have you encourage abusers in this manner. You are now encouraging abusive behavior being posted at me. If you encourage abuse, you get abusers.

          You should be removing those abusive comments and their commenters, instead of allowing them to attack good people, such as myself.

          Robert, I noticed the other day when the person using the name Shyam posted abusive comments toward you, you quickly deleted the abusive comments and banned him.

          Please respect me to do the same when I am attacked by crazies. Thank you.

      • Lotus

        Looks like the problem drinker, hate-filled Dlux is ordering me “Down the hill.”

    • Mer

      That’s a good idea, Lotus. The killer may have used some expressions or particular words that someone might associate with him. I think they could release a transcript. The words of BG are probably directions to the girls as he attempted to subdue them–probably comments like ‘get on the ground’, ‘give me your hands’, ‘shut up’,’ but he could have definitely used a phrase that would suggest an identity.

      • Kim

        I hate to say this but my perception of the ‘down the hill’ audio clip is of a very tense, coiled, authoritative man of few words, at least in that situation. Although he may have issued another terse command, or uttered something(s) under his breath, if the girls were screaming 6s after “down the hill” the only way for LE to extract the words/phrases from the horrifying sound mileu would be to put together loops like they did previously or Eric A. did.

        With the sounds of scuffle on dead leaves/branches, phone in pocket, girls screaming there simply may not be any more clear sounds from the perp. If they had something they could clearly isolate I would think they would make another loop clip, wouldn’t they??

  2. Lotus

    Here is an article saying trails in Indiana are basically safe, but giving these tips:

    “Be aware of your surroundings at all times. Have a cellphone and make sure it’s charged.Take a buddy.Carry mace or pepper spray if you feel comfortable doing so.If hiking alone, tell someone where you are going and when to expect you back.If something doesn’t feel right, turn back.”

    That is taken from this article:
    http://www.tribstar.com/news/local_news/safety-on-the-trails-with-solitude-in-nature-can-come/article_6371aa42-bd51-5149-a9ec-6a53db7b4d82.html

  3. paula

    Lotus, YOU are the hate filled one…..stop projecting it on other people…I think I’ve addressed you all of ONE time on these threads and it was to correct your manners…..

    stop acting like such a jerk…..

    • Mer

      We, the posters here, need to stop all the petty back and forth, and stay focused on why we are all here. We want the person(s) responsible to be caught.
      I think it’s going to be difficult for LE to find BG. I think the photos and audio may be the only evidence they have. I think that if they had DNA of the suspect, they would say they have DNA. This would reassure everyone that they can ultimately find the guilty party. They have not said that, so I assume they do NOT have DNA of the suspect(s).
      The photos are too blurry to make any conclusive findings. I am leaning towards the theory that this guy is a SK. The crime was bungled, Libby put up more of a fight than he could handle. He did kill, or attempt to kill the girls quickly, perhaps after realizing Libby had recorded the crime. Then he left.

      • MB

        This. Thank you. I have no idea what happened to these young girls but someone dropped the ball somewhere- somehow, someway.

      • Kathy

        I agree with you! I don’t think that they have DNA like sperm or blood. They may have hairs or fibers. If they had DNA, they would say so. I also don’t believe that they have suspects. I did notice in an article I read today with ABC interviewing Abby’s mom that she referred two or three time to him/he and not them.

        • Kim

          Agreed. If there was a rape it’s hard to avoid DNA without time/effort effort. Although Libby fought like a wildcat, shredding her nails etc. seems there wasn’t exposed skin for her to hit, hence no blood, skin, hair? Unless, they do have some (with no database hit) … but seems quantities would be sufficient so they can use it to confirm a suspect. The ‘trace’ DNA, present in much smaller amounts, on their clothes from previous wear or any source…. I’m not familiar with how forensics determines sources for those.

          When PCR amplification is performed good sequence analysis data can be obtained if it is a fresh sample. Extremely little material is required, however, freshness is important.If it is old background clothing DNA it may be partially degraded (hence, incomplete sequence data). They may be able to get relative amounts of various unique sequences from timed amplification techniques.

          I’m assuming FBI took the girls clothes and maybe split them up between 1or 2 top forensics labs, for duplicate analysis. In a courtroom, statistical certainty of the results interpretations and any matches becomes more complicated in cases where multiple DNA samples are present or it’s partially degraded. I’m still pondering Eric A’s suggestion about “rinsing” girls off in the River, whether that’s possible or what it would mean for DNA.

    • Lotus

      “Paula” – DO NOT address any of your comments to or about me. I have stated this now for several days. Stop. No matter which name you are using, you are not welcome to address me or try to speak for me. I consider your comments to be cyberstalking. STOP.

  4. Mer

    Let’s start over:
    Libby and Abby were abducted from the SE end of the Monon High Bridge, sometime between 2:00 pm and 3:00 pm.
    There bodies were found about 21 hours later, across Deer Creek from the abduction site.
    Libby managed to obtain video and audio of the crime–at least part of it.

  5. Indianahikerchick

    IB’s son died from a “self inflicted gunshot wound to the head” while he was still in high school. IB also has a distant relative from his father’s line who resides in Iowa and is an RSO. These facts may have zero significance and I am not implying guilt but wanted to share a couple of random facts that keep me up at night.

Leave a Reply

