Possible Major Break in the Delphi and Evansdale Murders

Note to commenters: Please stop referring to Unsub as a pedophile. He may well be one, but that’s something that can be determined from this crime as it was not a pedophilic offense. Instead, this was a hebephilic offense. And the perpetrator could certainly be seen as a hebephile, although he’s not necessarily one. If you want to refer to the nature of the offense, use the word hebephilic instead of pedophilic. If you wish to refer to Unsub’s paraphilia, please refer to him as a hebephile and not a pedophile.

Thank you so much for this. I am getting tired of words being misused. And now we are being scientific on the board.

Note 2 to commenters: I am really getting sick and tired of saying this, but most of the material below is made up of rumors and my own opinions and theories. None of that is represented as fact. The only thing that is represented as fact as statements sourced from LE or the media.

And incidentally, the way I wrote up the case is precisely how detectives work a case. Detectives do not work cases using the scientific method. If they did, they would hardly solve one case. It’s more “We believe this for now…this is true for now…at the moment, this is what we think happened…we believe…” They are throwing out endless theories about what really happened and accepting them as (temporary) facts. They are then continuously revising and throwing out theories and creating new ones.

Being  a detective is about being wrong. Not just once, but being wrong over and over so many times your head will want to come off. If you can’t handle being wrong, then detective work is surely not for you. Finally detectives arrive at enough information to file a case against someone, but a lot of that is not factual either. They believe he did the crime. They believe that this, that, or the other happened with no way to really prove it – it’s just what they conjecture.

If he is convicted, then the theory that he did the crime is validated as fact, but I am not sure what other evidence is. And even court decisions are not scientific fact because they get overturned all the time. There are not a whole lot of 100% certain, clear scientific facts in LE work, detective work on the judicial system itself. A good portion of the decisions made turn out to be theories, temporary but unstable facts, beliefs, hunches and guesswork, all represented as fact in the court.

If you have issues with theories, opinions and what not, just quit reading and get the Hell off my site right now and never come back. I am really getting sick and tired of this BS.

This Delphi murders case has not had much to offer us but grief and disappointment for the last month. The investigation in my opinion, has not gone anywhere. I don’t think they even have any decent POI’s.

However I think this may be changing now, and I am now very optimistic that this case can be solved or at least I think LE is finally onto a really decent POI, let’s put it that way. I strongly believe that this POI did both the Evansdale and Delphi murders.

Now whether they can actually gather enough evidence to arrest him in either of those cases is another matter altogether. It will certainly be very hard to tie Mr. X to Evansdale because so much time has passed and other factors I will not go into. Bottom line is after four years, it’s going to hard to develop any actionable evidence against him in that case.

But we are only a month into the Delphi case, so there’s a much better chance to gather good evidence in this case. But LE needs to jump on this right now. Not now. Yesterday.

The break is thus:

  • In my opinion, the best suspect in the Evansdale case is a man I will call Mr. X. I never thought they had any decent suspects in that case, and to me, this guy had the best case of anyone so far. Granted, the evidence is all circumstantial, but to me it is quite convincing. That is all I will say for now.
  • The major break is that Mr. X, the best suspect in the Evansdale case, has now been positively identified as the man on the bridge in Delphi. The person who ID’d Mr. X as Bridge Man knows him very well. In fact, this person lived with him for some period of time, possibly for 5-10 years. I have no information on whether this person ID’d Mr. X’s voice too, but I know they ID’d the photo.

LE stated that they are actively following up on the lead and attempting to contact Mr. X.

That is all for now. I do not want to say too much about this case, and I am working together with some other sleuths to figure out how much information I should release at once. I may just dribble it out bit by bit. I do not wish to jeopardize the police investigation in the Delphi murders in any way, shape or form. That is why I am being so cautious with what I release. I know about 100 X more about Mr. X than I have written here, but I am not going to go into any of that right now.

If you think this website is valuable to you, please consider a contribution to support the continuation of the site. Donations are the only thing that keep the site operating.

39 Comments

Filed under Crime, Iowa, Law enforcement, Midwest, Regional, Serial Killers, USA

39 responses to “Possible Major Break in the Delphi and Evansdale Murders

  1. Ricita

    Oh, I hope this is true! I have a question, since it is believed there are two killers, how do you think the two met? Are they believed to be related or did they meet on the internet, etc.?

    • Yes Killer #2 may have been the creepy Man in Black who was seen right around the time that Libby took that photo. Some girls saw him on the trail and reported that he was coming in their direction, and they said hi to him, but he did not respond and kept silent. A woman also spotted him around that time.

      There’s no evidence whatsoever connecting Man in Black to the crime. Some people just think he might have been involved.

      Ok, I believe Mr. X is a pedophile and a sociopath. I also believe that there are actual networks of pedophiles. I believe that Mr. X was a member of a pedophile network. Conceivably he could have met up with another sadistic pedophile with similar fantasies, and they got together to do this crime. I have no idea how these networks operate, whether on the Net or in some other way. Possibly the Dark Net. There’s some really bad stuff down there. Like you can download a pamphlet telling you how to abduct a girl from her bedroom. Stuff like that.

      As far as the crime, I have been told that some pedophiles like the thrill of two girls at once and then killing them. Conceivably these two guys shared the same fantasy and got together to make it a reality.

      • Ricita

        Those were my thoughts as well. I feel like he did the Evansdale murders by himself, though. It seems as though the Delphi murders were escalated from the ones done in Evansdale.

      • Ricita

        I’ve been giving some thought as to who the man in black might be. I’m definitely going to say that I think he is younger than bridge man. Possibly significantly younger. Here’s why I think this way. The whole dressed in all black with a backpack thing? That screams “Hey! Look at me! I’m different!” It seems very childish to me. He’s wearing what you see all the little 15 year old goth kids wearing at your local mall. Not only that, but why would one wear something so conspicuous? He clearly wants some kind of attention, also a sign of immaturity. Bridge man knew how to disguise himself and blend into the landscape. Not only that, a backpack? That’s a lot of baggage. Bridge man was already packing a gun and he had everything in a small fanny pack. What kind of weapondry, etc. necessitates a backpack? Clearly, this was man in black’s first time and he was a little over zealous. Then there’s also the element of devil worship that I’ve seen brought up a few times and the numerology pertaining to the deaths of both the Evansdale and Delphi girls. As bridge man is probably quite religious, I think the devil worship aspect came from man in black. The whole devil worship thing screams that he is young to me as well. I don’t think this guy is going to be able to hold his tongue for very long about what he has done.

        • Do you think the man in black is involved in the homicides?

        • Ricita

          When I was first introduced to this case, I just read the basic news articles and watched the initial press conference. My first thought was that there were definitely two killers. And then when I watched the press conference, it seems as though it was concrete that my suspicions were correct due to LE comments. I just read your new write up on the case, which makes me very confused. LE seems to be back pedaling about the two killer theory. But, no, I’m sticking to my theory about two killers. I really don’t know if it was the man in black or someone else. Two killers because it would have been easier to silence and corral the girls with two. Bottom line.

        • I really do not care if they are backpedaling on it. They openly promoted it for some time and the $64,000 question is what on Earth made them think there were two killers in the first place. And incidentally they started promoting the two killers theory early on. Surely there was a reason for that. And what was that reason? So many things about this case make no sense.

  2. zuma

    This case is quite interesting in that this dude is fairly good at being in the right place at the right time. Also, aren’t the majority of murders by someone who knows the victim? These ‘random’ murders are very rare, no?

  3. Whoever said the killer did not know his victims?

  4. zuma

    I don’t think I’ve read definitively that the girls knew or didn’t know the killer. I have no idea. I do know that the majority of victims have some previous relationship to the killer, no? I’m just curious if this is the case with this murder?

    Hope that makes sense. Thanks.

  5. I do not believe the Delphi girls knew their killer. Anyway, I believe he came from 350 miles away to do this crime, so that makes it unlikely that they knew him. Delphi Unsub came from another state as ISP chief stated.

  6. zuma

    So it’s quite rare that victims don’t know their killers. How the hell would this dude know these girls would be there? I guess he just went out there regularly looking for prey or just luck.

    • I do not know. I believe he has ties to Delphi because I believe he used to work for a company in Iowa that made deliveries to Delphi all the time. Maybe he got paid by the mile or maybe he took lunch in Delphi. At any rate, that is the connection that a guy 350 miles away could have had with that town. He also had an accomplice, maybe the Man in Black. Man in Black may have been a local and may have been his connection to Delphi.

      As far as how he knew they would be there or if he knew they would be there, I have no idea at all. Perhaps they were catfished.

    • Amber LaBelle

      Maybe he lured them in from talking to them online.

    • Sheila

      Coincidence that the movie The Shack is in theatres now. ? I am feeling that Unsub is (ex) military.

  7. Mer

    I hope this is correct

  8. Indeed, I contacted two detectives about him. I spoke to one yesterday about him and I wrote up a long paper on him for another one. I believe they are definitely following up on this tip.

    You really should not put down amateur sleuths. Do you realize how many crimes we solve? We often work directly with detectives and in many cases, there could be no arrest without our help.

    I don’t know if they should get their hopes up. I am now optimistic about this case for the first time due to my opinion, not due to facts. Now whether they want to get optimistic too is their opinion.

    Sleuths are not making up anything. The better ones are just repeating rumors. Any other opinions they have is because they built up a decent case against a POI.

    • Mer

      I’m not putting you down. You’ve put out a lot of great info. Your update on the case with photos was superb. I like the way both photos were shown together, I thought they were taken some time apart, but they were taken in the span of 1 step. I think your profile of the killer will turn out to be pretty accurate, generally. I say I hope this is correct, because it could be a play for the reward money. I sincerely hope, as do you, that this is the guy and they have evidence that will put him away. It also will solve the Evansdale case.

      • A play for the reward money? Explain.

        As far as the reward, I figure I was the first and most persistent to turn in my POI, so I suppose that’s my angle on that one. The profile was not written in an attempt to get reward money. I wrote it up for detectives actually. I gave them a longer version, 16 pages.

  9. Mer

    Play for the reward money, maybe his ex is just messing with this guy, sicking the police on him, causing him some grief. I repeat, I hope this is the guy and it brings closure to Delphi and Evansdale.

  10. zuma

    Any new info? Just so curious about this case. I saw there was an arrest of a property owner from the area, but it was because of probation violation and not related to the case. Still, quite curious.

    • No, sorry. Just talked to a detective right now, and they are very tight-lipped, not saying one damn thing. “I cannot release any information regarding the case,” over and over. They have this thing locked down good.

  11. Neferbunny

    So, apparently, Mr. X has no DNA on file?
    Someone on Reddit mentioned that if they were catfished the Feds would have found the link quite easily. Also, if the murderer was tech savvy, wouldn’t he, at the very least, have thrown their phones in the river?

  12. Wasn’t suggesting 77 year old Ron Logan, lol. Got some big news that might help you if you have a way I can send it to you privately. I too would like to avoid lawsuits from false accusations.

  13. Ricita

    Ron Logan is now in police custody as of last night. What is your take on this?

  14. ann

    What are your thoughts on the recent warrant search on Ron Logan’s property? LE confiscated his truck.

  15. Kristen

    What else about Mr. X do you know? I’m in CT and extremely interested in this case. I won’t share info.
    Kristen

  16. AM

    What if this man has access to other children with his employment? I know for a fact that he does and the owner isnt doing anything about it. Shouldn’t the people in the community where he works know so they can protect their children?

Leave a Reply

