Do People with 140 IQ See Normal People (IQ 90 to 110) as Stupid?

This is my answer to this question that was asked in the IQ section of Quora. I must say that I really love that they have an IQ section over there. You are not really allowed to talk about IQ at all in US society, and you are not allowed to write about it either, especially if you are writing about yourself. It is seen as bragging. However, society more or less allows or even cheers on bragging about all sorts of other things, so I think the hatred of IQ-talk and the labeling it as bragging is just sour grapes coming from people whose IQ’s are not that high. Also the US is a very anti-intellectual country, and we have always been that way.

Personally I am dubious about how good it is to have a very high IQ, as it seems to have as many drawbacks as benefits. Actually I would question whether it is even a good thing at all. It often seems like more of a bad thing. I like the idea that it is a bad thing because that means that you can’t brag about it no matter how much you talk about it. It’s like bragging about being poor or fat.

On the positive side, a very high IQ is a talent. There are many talents – Mechanical, artistic, athletic, musical, mathematical, social, thesbian, literary, photographic. It goes on and on. There are people who are great fishermen and hunters. And when it comes to acquired talents like the last two, the possibilities are endless. I have great admiration for handymen  who can fix anything and shade tree mechanics. I am always in awe of these people. I have tremendous admiration for anyone who can show me that they are very good at just about anything because it’s never easy to be an expert in anything.

Anyway, Quora is so cool because it is one of he few places anywhere in life where I can actually talk about IQ! You can read and talk about IQ all you want to on there, and no one will accuse you of being a social retard or bragging. I love it!

The original question was Do People with 140 IQ See Normal People (IQ 100 to 130) as Stupid?, which is a rather dumb question. First of all, normal IQ is 90-110, not 100-130. 120-130 is considered bright, and even 110-120 is called high normal. 130 is getting very close to gifted, and maybe ~5% of the population has an IQ of at least 130. Also it should have been phrased 140+ instead of just 140.

I do not see people with normal IQ’s as stupid. However, to me a lot of them are simply not very interesting. That being said, the two best friends I ever had in life both probably had IQ’s of ~100, and I got along with both of them immaculately. However, there were surely things that I could not discuss with them. We mostly just joked and talked about rock music, drugs and women. That’s really all there is to life anyway, right? Sex and drugs and rock and roll?

Around here we have a lot of Mexicans. Their average IQ is ~90. The average Mexican does not strike me as stupid at all.

However, there are some who seem less intelligent than the others. I assume that their IQ’s are in the 80’s. I see some of those lower IQ working class Mexican men in stores sometimes, and they almost seem like retarded people. I know they are not retarded at all, but from my POV, they seem that way. Perhaps a ~100 IQ person would be more likely to see them as more normal than I do?

I worked for a local Indian tribe for a while. I remember that I used to get frustrated with the leadership because they seemed to make what appeared to me to be stupid decisions. It was very frustrating to sit back and watch higher ups make one dumb decision after another and not be able to do anything about it. I would imagine that those Indians had average IQ’s of ~87.

The answers to this question on Quora were mostly dumb and probably disingenuous. Most of the very high IQ people on there answered by saying that they did not find people of normal intelligence to be stupid at all. However, I think they were lying, and genius IQ types do find normal IQ people to be stupid at times. At times. Not all the time. I work very hard to avoid feeling that way because it makes me uncomfortable to think that way about the majority of my fellow humans are idiots.

My answer is below. Free to comment.

I will be completely honest here. I do find most people to be idiots, but I don’t necessarily break it down by IQ, mostly because I do not know most people’s IQ’s. What bothers me about humanity in general and causes me to think that most people are morons is that most people seem to me to lack wisdom.

However, this does include thinking emotionally rather than logically, and I have to admit that lower intelligence people are more likely to think emotionally than logically. Yet the number of highly intelligent people (IQ 140–150) I know who also think emotionally instead of logically is quite high. It seems that most people period simply cannot get out of the trap of thinking emotionally and therefore illogically about things regardless of intelligence level.

But as you get up the IQ scale, you will find more and more people who value logical thinking and disparage emotional and illogical thinking, and yes, they do tend to think that the average person thinks with their heart and not their head and therefore gets the wrong answer.

I do resent being misunderstood, and lower intelligence people tend to misunderstand me more and not get the joke and/or allusive comment and therefore think that I am weird, crazy, dangerous, or maybe all three. I don’t like that, but I guess they can’t help it. If people don’t understand something, they think it is weird, crazy and scary, so if they don’t understand someone, they think that person is weird, scary or crazy. That’s a dumb way to think, but that’s just how people are.

I could care less about their IQ score or how well they did in school. I don’t care whether they know a lot or a little. Hopefully, none of that would make me dislike another human.

But I do fault people for lacking wisdom because to me, most humans ought be able to figure things out enough to arrive at the wise or wiser answer or decision and to reject all the less wise answers or decisions.

The problem really is society. Society fills your head with lies, not only lies but stupid and dangerous lies. Most people conform to society, so they simply incorporate all of society’s lies, even the stupid and dangerous ones. You can’t really fault them for that because people want to be accepted, and a good way to be accepted is to accept all of society’s lies and go along with them.

If you start rejecting society’s lies, you will probably be rejected by most people, and you will always be getting into arguments and fights with people if you challenge them when they spout off the Society Lie Du Jour.

Can you blame people for taking the easy way out?

I do think the people who believe society’s BS actually cause a lot of damage to society and even to people like me. They are always passing judgement on others for silly and crazy reasons, and that makes the world a less fun place to live in.

So if you want to be my friend and not have me resent you, it’s pretty easy. Just be wise, and don’t be unwise! How hard is that? Come on, you can do it. I know you can.

35 Comments

Filed under American, Amerindians, Culture, Hispanics, Intelligence, Mexicans, Psychology, Race/Ethnicity

35 responses to “Do People with 140 IQ See Normal People (IQ 90 to 110) as Stupid?

  1. Jason Y

    A lot of blacks are massively musically talented yet are bashed by WNs of course for being low IQ and useless, even ones who aren’t ghetto black.

  2. Dave Mowers

    “What problems does he have, Sean, that he is better off as a janitor or in jail or hanging around with…” -Prof. Gerald Lambeau

    “And why does he hang out with his friends? Because any one of those
    kids would come in here and take a bat to your head if he asked them
    to. It’s called loyalty!” -Sean Maguire

    Good Will Hunting

  3. kekko

    it look like average mexican IQ is 90 really !
    it’s a old list (2010)
    https://www.iqtestforfree.net/average-IQ-by-country.html
    Copyright © 2010-2015 IQ Test. All rights reserved.
    mensa iq test.

    • Joe

      Man, what happened to Portugal. It’s odd to see them become so irrelevant, considering their history.

      • kekko

        You’re right , i can’t see too

      • M M

        Really. I’d like to hear from Lindsay, or any other 140+ IQ type for that matter, on how they think national/ethnic IQs have varied through centuries. Considering it is the higher-IQ peoples who grab the largest shares of power, are we to think Spaniards and Portuguese had top-notch IQs a few centuries ago? And what about the relationship between Southern and Northern Europe. Today and in the last 2 centuries at least, there seems to be a gradient, going up as you go northwards. But was it this way in the Roman Empire age? I don’t think so.

        A friend of mine and Lindsay’s, Benjamin D’Israeli, would have the explanation ready: the countries hosting more Jews and allowing them to partake in governance were the most successful from the days of Moses onwards😀.

  4. Tulio

    “In truth, I do not see people with normal IQ’s as stupid. However, to me a lot of them are simply not very interesting.”

    ^^^ This. That’s exactly how I feel. I just don’t find most people all that interesting enough for me invest much of myself in them. So I make light chit chat and keep it at that level.

    I’m also an INTP, and we’re known for only wanting to socialize with intelligent people.

  5. Gay State Girl

    How do you find interactions with the mathematically or spatially gifted?

  6. What is an example of a spatially gifted person? Draftsman? Engineer? Mechanic? I am not sure I have known many math brains. Most of my friends were not math brains for whatever reason. A lot of math and engineer and computer brain types are very conservative, and I do not like that. A lot of them are just too male, nerdy and almost Aspie like.

    • Another William Playfair Web

      It seems like plenty of Math people are actually more on the verbal side of things- I think Math does require creativity- and hence they and scientists are often more liberal.
      The Engineers tend to be more conservative than Math types.

    • M M

      Don’t conflate visuospatial with mathematical-logical. Computer science and chemical engineering, for example, are two lines far from each other.

      You’d better like conservatives a little more. Since they are a minority, particularly among the educate, they are much more tolerant than their opposers. You seem an independent mind, and it is an easy bet that the typical media-manufactured liberal would itch to censor you more than the average conservative.

  7. Tata

    I feel like you describe, but I think that my IQ is only 110, according to some tests I did in the web, but I know that the tests in the web are not very valids. Maybe I’m smater than 110, or less, but this number is still vey high in the disavantaged area I’m born. I’m from a countryside where everybody act a little bit retards (dangerous retards in fact). I score high in the spatial intelligence and I’m certain to be a genius in this category.

    My husband is a math genius and he think I’m too logical for most humans and I should stop having arguments with these idiots in the web and trying to be validated and liked by the average intelligent people, especially women who are the most irrationnals and dangerous idiots (not all, but most).

    Most people think that I’m weird and I always could be friend only with weird people. When I was young I always wanted “normal”, popular and artists friends, but can connect only with nerd, crazy, mentally ill and genius people. But the kind of math and science genius, not the “cool intellectuals” in art and social studies. They don’t like me, and I find them so pretentious and fake personalities.

    This describe well my problem with most humans:

    “The problem really is society. Society fills your head with lies, not only lies but stupid and dangerous lies. Most people conform to society, so they simply incorporate all of society’s lies, even the stupid and dangerous ones. You can’t really fault them for that because people want to be accepted and a good way to be accepted is to accept all of society’s lies and go along with them.

    If you start rejecting society’s lies, then you will probably be rejected by most people, and you will always be getting into arguments and fights with people if you challenge them when they spout off the Society Lie Du Jour.”

    I know that you consider the left smater and the conservatives dumbs rednecks, but today the “society Lie Du Jour” is the liberal, left, SJW, feminist, pro-Hillary, vegetalians fanaticals, etc.

    I think that there is very genius people in the right political spectrum, because they are more rationals and don’t like to be said false thing like Caitlyn Jenner is a real woman because he had cosmetic surgery, races don’t exist, etc. I find the liberals SJW people extremely dumbs, emotionals, illogicals and self deceiving. They believe all the lies in the medias and the lobyist propaganda.

    Because some of them have university degrees, they believe they are super smarts, but in Canada anybody can go to university, because they don’t do a selection except in medicine. Anybody can go in “social studies” and believe they are super smart and know everything. I like to provoc these idiots saying all they hate to listen and deconstruct their illogicals system of thinking. I’m always having arguments with the averages liberals idiots in the social medias. I know I waste my time and my energy, but I have too much curiosity to analyze the way they think. More I discuss with the average intelligent people, more I understand the world we live in and I recognize these way to act in my family and people at work and I can to predict what they will say before they talk.

    • Another William Playfair Web

      Keep in mind that Liberals, and I believe personally, SJWs as well, have higher IQs because they have creativity, think about it, an SJW has to be creative to get “oppression” out of everything- it’s not obvious to the Median person.

    • Another William Playfair Web

      Liberals better at verbal things.
      Conservatives better at spatial things (like you).

      Conservatives in this day and age are more evolutionary primitive, hence perhaps tilting to liberals over all (i.e. the Southern strategy, etc.) but when controlled for that, I’d like to see what the stats are.
      Verbal things can be logical, too.

      • Tata

        They don’t need to be good in verbal intelligence to repeat all the same words with no brain: safe space, trigger warning, patriarchy, rape culture, hetero normativity, racist, bigot, cis gender, micro agression, etc.

        They don’t understand the meaning of the words they use.

        • Another William Playfair Web

          that’s certainly possible as well🙂, although I’m speaking more of the ones who manufacture the trouble themselves, not just the ones who join in.

        • M M

          A new one has been freshly invented: “heterosexism.”

    • Thank you so much for this, Tata. I really enjoy your contributions here on the site!

  8. SHI

    I worked for a local Indian tribe for a while. I remember that I used to get frustrated with the leadership because they seemed to make what appeared to me to be stupid decisions. It was very frustrating to sit back and watch higher ups make one dumb decision after another and not be able to do anything about it. I would imagine that those Indians had average IQ’s of ~87.

    Aren’t they big alcoholics?

    • Dude, they are ALL fucked up. Every problem you could possibly imagine, they have it. They are basically a defeated race is how I see it. It’s like their race is been hit by a nuclear bomb.

      • M M

        This is what happens when you put a species in an environment that isn’t theirs, and they don’t have the (once physical, nowadays mental) resources to overcome in the new setting. Isn’t this same reasons the root of African-American ever-worsening jumpiness and frustration, and (as a result) paranoia (reverting about racism… that’s the easiest smoke screen for their dissatisfied minds).
        Like Moynihan, and not only him, forecast, the more freedom, the more lack of any real discrimination, and, let me add, the more technologized society gets, the worse they’ll feel.

        Research, doing no more than confirm what all of us would expect, has shown a family with $3,500 monthly income living in a neighborhood where the average is $5,000 is “less happy” than one earning $25,00 and on par with the people in the ward. I really think black people would commit less crime and be less aggressive if they were among themselves. I had reached that conclusion by myself, and before reading this.

        Congratulations for reposting your answer on Quora omitting the first sentence, which told your IQ🙂
        All very talkative people (as you manifestly are) don’t like mathematics and still less more concrete lines of study like engineering and non-theoretical physics. As for your relatives’ IQ’s, they forced me to think of the anti-hereditarianists (“environmentalists”), and smile a smile.

  9. Jason Y

    i mean, we have a lot of certainties OR facts but the death is the most important because as a sophisticately self-perceived lifes we are very (logically) worried about our own death, the end of the only own known world.

    I wish most racists would die😆 How about like right now ???

    • Another William Playfair Web

      I like to think that hardcore racists gain wisdom over time and see the error in their ways before they pass-on, one way or another.

      • Jason Y

        Yeah, but they’re so mean that many people want to kill them before they have a chance to change.

        • M M

          That is an hopeful, bitter illusion, and the most widespread talk of racists, who are, of course, those who cry “racist!” the most (they need to vent, like everybody. Check the SPLC home page and see how their riff is they “fight hate”, eheheh…).

          Nobody wants, and nobody kills racists. Racists are people who dominate a zeitgeist and a society and have all the means to practice racism. A part of what they can do, and do, is accuse their targets of being racists. And indoctrinate gulls into seeing things on the reverse of what they are — but that is easy.

  10. Yotta

    Robert, did the IQ test you took have spatial subtest ?

    If it is mostly verbal it might have overestimated your intelligence.

    • WISC age 14 – IQ 147. WAIS age 29 IQ “140+”. My mother and all of my siblings all have IQ’s of 140+ and they all hate math about as much as I do. A lot of them struggled with Geometry, Algebra 2 and Statistics.

      • Jason Y

        But I don’t get it. The online IQ tests are big into fitting pictures and studying sequences, so it seems like anyone who could do that can do math.

      • Yotta

        But did they have spatial subtests (cubes, raven matrices etc…) yes or no ?

        And how high did you score on these ?

        • Yes of course they had those. I am good at those things. I can recognize patterns well, but higher math simply baffles me. It might as well be Chinese.

        • You should write an article about your test scores, like pumpkin person did here: https://pumpkinperson.com/2016/04/25/pumpkin-persons-childhood-iq-results/

          Or may be you could send him (pumpkin) your test results so that he could do an analysis. I’m sure he will be enthousiastic about it.

        • Jason Y

          I suspect Robert could do math, but he doesn’t want to learn it. Math is all about brain speed. That’s why so many people can’t do it. Either thier brain cannot learn that much information over a few weeks, or it can’t recall learned info at a fast enough rate to take a 50 minute test.

        • “I suspect Robert could do math, but he doesn’t want to learn it. Math is all about brain speed. That’s why so many people can’t do it. Either thier brain cannot learn that much information over a few weeks, or it can’t recall learned info at a fast enough rate to take a 50 minute test.”

          Well math is more than just brain speed, it is also just the ability to understand logic through recognition and deconstruction.

          To some it will just not make any sense, not necessarily whether or not their brain is fast or not.

          BTW, I’ve already posted to you that patterns in online IQ tests aren’t a proxy for real ones.

        • Jason Y

          The environment can prevent math study. Math builds on itself, and when I was in school (middle school especially), there were all sorts of distraction in math class. Now, for some reason though, I managed to do well middle school science courses, possibly cause those classes were less rowdy and I was more interested in it.

          As we all know American public schools are all about being popular, having a social life etc.. So it’s not surprising students are not concentrating on math which as I said builds on itself. If you can’t understand the basic concept of algebra, then you have a tough time with the rest.

          Oh yeah, in reference to Robert again, possibly, like me in middle school, maybe he didn’t like math. If you don’t like something, you won’t excel as much at it.

          I do like math now, but I was more interested in science at that age.

  11. pedro

    It doesn’t matter if you were not born a genius. Anyone can boost their IQ to super genius level(200+). Go to websites http://www.lightspeed learning.com and http://www.learningstrategies.com. In the software dvd and cd formats. These are brain learning boosters up to 2,000,000 words a MINUTE permanently. They are also very useful for professional ATHLETES & MIX MARTIAL ARTISTS. For homestudy application the former sells their software at $277.00 apiece. It is never too late. It is like learning 2,000 books every MINUTE. You can have all the doctorate degrees in no time at all.

Leave a Reply

