The Cranberries, “Dreams”

This is one of my favorite songs of all time. The only bad thing about this song is that it ends.

Here it is 2016, and the world is transfixed by Justin Beiber’s baby or whatever Celebrity Bullshit of the Week is going on. It’s a good thing some of us still know what’s important.

Most of the music coming out now won’t even be listened to in five years. Whereas this song will be famous for eternity.

Once upon a time, not so long ago, good music ruled the world. Those days have come and gone. One day, soon or far away, good music will rise again.

RIP 1990’s! RIP good music!

Oh my life
Is changing every day
In every possible way
And oh my dreams
It’s never quite as it seems
Never quite as it seems
I know I felt like this before
But now I’m feeling it even more
Because it came from you
Then I open up and see
The person falling here is me
A different way to be
Ah, la da ah…La…
I want more
Impossible to ignore
Impossible to ignore
And they’ll come true
Impossible not to do
Impossible not to do
And now I tell you openly
You have my heart so don’t hurt me
You’re what I couldn’t find
A totally amazing mind
So understanding and so kind
You’re everything to me
Oh my life
Is changing every day
In every possible way
And oh my dreams
It’s never quite as it seems
‘Cause you’re a dream to me
Dream to me
Ah, da, da da da, da, la…

17 Comments

Filed under Music, Rock

17 responses to “The Cranberries, “Dreams”

  1. Jason Y

    Iv’e not heard any good music since 2000, unless it’s country music. The country music has gotten more progressive and less sappy and/or corny.

    • guy from Montreal (can't reset my keyboard to French for accent mark!)

      You talking Nashville or non Nashville? There’s awesome contemporary country music out there but it does not not come out of that cesspool called Nashville.

      • Jason Y

        I can stand some of the music coming out of nashville as long as it’s not corny redneck songs, or sentimental crap. There may even be some country, as you said, that isn’t played much that’s really awesome.

        • Jason Y

          Here’s a crappy sentimental country song, the all time # 1

          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKpQRjj_WbU

          We talked about God’s grace and all the hell we raised
          Then I heard the ol’ man say;
          “God is great, beer is good and people are crazy”

        • guy from Montreal (can't reset my keyboard to French for accent mark!)

          I didn’t watch the whole video but at least he wasn’t singing about pick-up trucks, Nascar and Bud light, unless he saved that for the end.

  2. Hasdrubal

    The difference between living in an era of good music and bad music is that in era of bad music 95% of what is popular is crap, in an era of good music only 90% of what is popular is crap. Check out Rob Schneider’s daughter (yes that Rob Schneider) Elle King, she sounds like an updated Wanda Jackson.

    • guy from Montreal (can't reset my keyboard to French for accent mark!)

      “The difference between living in an era of good music and bad music is that in era of bad music 95% of what is popular is crap, in an era of good music only 90% of what is popular is crap” I have to agree here, there was a lot of crap on the radio in the 90’s but there was some good music as well, Cranberries and Garbage were great bands and they were popular, as many other good bands were, it seems that since the year 2000 everything you hear on the radio is absolute crap! The 90’s really was the last decade where you could hear a decent tune on the radio. There is still some very amazing music being made but you just have to dig deeper than before to find it. Thanks for posting this video Robert, I had only ever seen Dolores with that short blonde lesbo hair she always seemed to have, God she is so sweet with longer hair! I still listen to this band and I’ve actually done some photo work for a Cranberries tribute band some years ago.

  3. Jason Y

    Robert Plant put out some good music in the 2000s, and there were some other notable exceptions, but I have yet to hear anything worth a crap, generally on the radio.

  4. guy from Montreal (can't reset my keyboard to French for accent mark!)

    • guy from Montreal (can't reset my keyboard to French for accent mark!)

      I’ve had a raging boner for Shirley Manson ever since I saw this video back in 1996, not the most beautiful of beautiful women but man she’s got some serious sex appeal! the band is still active and even in her middle age she still makes me feel like a horny teenager!

  5. Zombie!

    Zombie by the Cranberries about the “troubles” in Northern Ireland is one of my favourite songs…and that makes me think of Marillion and Forgotten Sons (Marillion’s lyrics when Fish was there are simply excellent – I can’t offhand think of any that are consistently better).

  6. Jason Y

    Linger is another epic song. Actually I like it better than Dreams. It reminds of me a little Korean town near the coast I taught school in.

  7. The holy trinity of music: Melody, Harmony, Rhythm.

    Music sounds best to me when it’s made up of these 3 elements. Melody and harmony for the heart. Rhythm for the feet and spirit. I love songs with melodic feel to them, but not sappy “You light up my life” way. A melody that can soothe my soul, pussify me. I also like a strong rhythmic section, containing killer base groove or pounding loud drums.

    I like music that’s sweet like a violin or roars like a lion.

  8. Jason Y

    http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/gene-simmons-rock-is-finally-dead-20140907

    I totally agree. Anyone want to debate Gene Simmon’s hypothesis?

Leave a Reply

