Suicide Thoughts in SSRI’s and Antidepressants in General

Johnny Caustic writes:

Always with these mass shootings, the first question should be whether he was taking SSRIs, antipsychotics, or other drugs that cause suicidal ideation in a substantial minority of takers. I suspect that the vast majority of mass shootings in America, probably around 95%, are caused by pharmaceuticals. (Which is why mass shootings were extremely rare before the pharmaceuticals were invented and marketed.)

I have been taking those drugs off and on for 25 years now, and I am still here. On the other hand, at the very beginning, I got bumped up to a really high dose on Prozac. Not only did it not effect my symptoms at all, but I got suicide thoughts something awful. They had this bizarre, creepy obsessive nature to them. They were insistent and persistent, almost like obsessions. It was almost like they were forcing you to think them, like obsessions. But you believed them, unlike obsessions. It was very creepy, but I have enough ego strength not to buy it with my own hand.

The drugs actually are very good at calming you down. When I go off Lexapro for a while, which I often do, I soon find myself getting pretty angry. I mean pick up the paper, how can you not blow your top nowadays? Anyway, I don’t really like to be steaming angry at my age as I am not an angry young man anymore and I also have high blood pressure and rage is not good for hypertension. Anyway, I take 30mg of Lexapro and the rage just dissipates and it’s, “Frankly world, I don’t give a damn,” all over again. Which is maybe the best way to be.

I took a trip recently and I bumped the Lexapro up to 40mg and even 50mg. The effect was out of this world. It made me so much better it was incredible. Almost like being high on a recreational drug. I was in a whole new saner universe. Unfortunately, you go that high and the drug kills your dick, but who needs a penis at my age anyway? It also calmed me down massively.

So the whole, “SSRI’s make you a violent maniac” thing, well, I am not so sure about that.

P. S.: There does seem to be an effect there, mostly for SSRI’s and not really for the other AD’s, but they are the only drugs that work for a lot of people, so we need them. And the suicide thoughts stuff is not common. I got it once in 25 years for a few weeks. I have had hundreds of clients who have taken these SSRI’s and no one has reported suicide thoughts or violence yet.

Plus my experience has been that SSRI’s are extremely calming and cause the opposite of rage and violence.

It is an interesting effect though, and they do not quite know what is causing it. How the Hell doesn’t an antidepressant make some people more suicidal?

16 Comments

Filed under Depression, Health, Medicine, Mental Illness, Mood Disorders, Psychology, Psychopathology, Psychotherapy

16 responses to “Suicide Thoughts in SSRI’s and Antidepressants in General

  1. Creaders

    I have never taken any mind altering drug neither do my immediate family members.

    East Asian simply endure.

    Many white man pop drugs like Iboprufen, prozac..etc.

    • Samuel Di Lima (formerly William Playfair)

      The problem is the culture in the U.S.- these drugs are marketed as miracle drugs, yet they have very limited success- it’s a corporate thing.
      That’s why I’ve eventually become more fiscally liberal- there’s no product natural selection/ the best doesn’t naturally rise to the top. That’s a lot of the problem…………………………………

  2. Johnny Caustic

    To the best of my knowledge, only a few percent of people on SSRIs experience suicidal ideation or other violent urges. But with tens of millions of people taking the drugs, that’s enough to account for an impressive number of deaths over time. I’m not proposing to ban them. But I don’t think the current state of affairs, where the only real influence on their prescription is the pharma companies’ desire to sell as many of them as humanly possible, is acceptable.

    At any rate, if you’re interested in following up on the topic, Dr. David Healy’s blog (or books) is a good place to start. He’s the expert, not me. http://davidhealy.org/blog/

  3. Ed

    We live in a declining culture, and I don’t know how someone who is knowledgeable and observant, and cares about stuff, can’t become depressed and angry about even stuff that people encounter in day to day life.

    The only way to avoid getting angry is to either be really ignorant and/ or to not care.

    People I know who seem to be happy and to have stable and productive lives, with jobs and families, tend to do ignorance very well. They either simply don’t consume any news at all, or if they do they get it from a small number of sources, usually propaganda outlets for one of the parties. If they engage you on politics at all, its clear that they live in some sort of fantasy world, to the point of getting even easily verifiable facts about science, geography, and/ or history completely wrong.

    The problem with ignorance is that it is really hard to become ignorant if you don’t start out this way in the first place. The alternative is to stop caring. This is where drugs can help alot. The non-druggy way, which is alot harder, is basically to become really cynical and pessimistic, to the point where you are just paying attention enough to see which road to hell society is taking. Both of these methods carry some risk of suicide, and make it harder to hold onto a regular job.

  4. Jason Y

    I wouldn’t trust psychiatric medicine, besides the fact it causes mass shootings the like. A better way to cure depression is via better nutrition and more exercise.

    • Another William Playfair Web

      Jason Y-

      With various web sources, the problem is that the brain has build up the receptors to take in the increased serotonin in the brain, and that can only occur with a drastic increase in serotonin levels.

  5. Another William Playfair Web

    Robert Lindsay-

    I have a very important question on this subject.

    I have been taking an SSRI called Sertraline since January, and I have been researching the cognitive effects of the drugs. From what I could find on the web, the correlation between actually taking the dose versus placebo, and scores on the tests ranged from -0.125 to insignificant positive (0.00<x<0.05)

    What were the effects on your cognition? Did it influence your ability to reason? Or just general executive function/rational (but not logical) thinking?

    • Another William Playfair Web

      Robert Lindsay-

      I mean for you to tell me what the cognitive/reasoning ability effects were for the drugs you took. The studies I looked out examined various drugs, and so if I could see what your actual experience was with Lexapro and Prozac versus what the study says that would be great!

      • No adverse effects on cognition whatsoever. In fact, I think I am smarter than I have ever been.

        The brain erasers are the benzodiazepines, the tranquilizers like Valium, Ativan, etc. I am on one now called Gabapentin and if I take more than 1 pill a day, my brain gets erased something bad. Very bad effects on memory.

    • Nothing. No effects whatsoever. In fact, I think a lot better when I am on those pills. I can feel a lot better, do all sorts of things way better. When I go off those pills, my mind gets so weird chaotic and nutty that it’s hard for me to concentrate. I was never able to concentrate better than when I was on an SSRI called Anafranil. I never read faster either. I have been taking those drugs for 25 years now. I’m not going off.

      Though now I am taking Wellbutrin a lot more and SSRI’s a lot less because I hate the SSRI sexual side effects.

      I was not aware that there were any SSRI effects on cognition at all other than relieving anxiety and depression which ought to make you think better right there.

      • Another William Fairplay Web

        Thanks for the feedback.

        I think that there was an attempt by researchers to differentiate between “executive function” and “cognition”. Executive function is the ability to think rationally/proportionately, intuition in a way, and relates to organizational skills and stuff like that. Cognition, is logical thinking. According to one web source, the tests measure executive function at an 0.30 correlation, which is slight. I’ll post the links to the studies when I get access to them, which hopefully should be tomorrow (I have it saved, there is just so much to wade through on the web).

        Thanks Again!

      • Another William Fairplay Web

        Thanks for the feedback.

        Researchers have attempted to differentiate between “executive function” and “cognition”, executive function relates to the ability to think rationally/proportionally, measured/calm responses in a way. Cognition is of course the ability to reason. I’ll try to post the links to the studies, when I get access to them (I have them saved, there is actually a ton of less specific information on the internet, as well as slightly differing studies).

        Thanks again!

        • Another William Fairplay Web

          According to a web source, IQ tests measure cognition at 0.30 correlation (double posted, just look at the first one🙂 )

  6. Another William Playfair Web

    Robert-

    It appears that the drug most similar to Anafranil and Wellbutrin (web sources) had mild positive effects on flicker fusion, recall and things like that, according to the study. So although I did not take those drugs, I feel more confident that I am reading the study correctly/the source is accurate.

    Thanks a lot for help.

  7. Another William Playfair Web

    It seems like on actual IQ tests, it doesn’t make a difference because the left side of the bell curve (lower intellects) is fatter than the right, and the right should be heavier because those who take CEs, or have the need to, are typically in more competitive (all elite) High Schools and Colleges, so it doesn’t really have any real effect in that specific regard.

  8. Another William Playfair Web

    which common/mathematical sense would imply means that it ‘levels the playing field’ having little effect on those who don’t need it, not changing the attention bell curve, which typically correlates with intellect, too much.

Leave a Reply

