John Lennon, “Give Peace a Chance”

From 1969. A little bit of bitter history here. John Lennon, hippies, the counterculture, the Vietnam – they were all flowing into and out of each other in one giant angry swirl at that moment in time. No one had the dickens of an idea what was going on either.

It was the best of times. it was the worst of times.

There is something so magical about this song. It showed up on my radio in a cover version yesterday. The first few chords, and I knew it was some great song, but I could not put my finger on it. A bit later, and then I got it. Then I had it in my head the whole rest of the day. People complain about having some song stuck in their head, but I rather like it. It’s never a lousy song anyway; it’s always one of the best ones ever. So why complain?

And glimpse, if you can, the clip from 2:03-2:13 and then again at 3:35-3:43 and flashing back one last time near the end at 4:48. Look at the guy with the ear to ear grin glued onto his face. It’s Tim Leary! The Godhead Himself!

D’you ever notice who it is…stop to think who it is we kill? It’s always people who’ve told us to to live together in harmony and try to love one another. Jesus, Gandhi, Lincoln, John Kennedy, Bobby Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Medgar Evers, Malcolm X, John Lennon – they all said, “Try to live together peacefully.” BAM! Right in the fuckin’ head. Apparently, we’re not ready for that.

– George Carlin

Exactly, George.

5 Comments

Filed under American, Culture, History, Music, Pop Culture, Rock, US

5 responses to “John Lennon, “Give Peace a Chance”

  1. GODS GIRL

    Its the Holy Ghost who puts songs in our head. I’m convinced it’s He who does it-deliberately. It’s always to encourage us, or to minister to our current crisis in that moment. Have you noticed it’s usually always relevant to what your going through? (The song)

    For example, I have to say sorry to someone and I’m putting it off and I keep getting that az yet song in my spirit “hard to say I’m sorry.”

    Coincidence? Unlikely.

    Be mindful of the songs you get in your head. They are always meaningful to what ur experiencing at the time and it’s trying to talk to you/reveal to you something.

    Completely brand New songs that appear in people’s mind come out of an intimacy with god apparently. They are born from spending time with him intimately, and they start bursting forth like blossom growing on trees. They just appear from being intimate with him. You know how artists have a number one hit, then another number one hit, then one more. They’ve been spending time with god.

    I may not be educated, but I know my LORD.
    There’s a Holy Ghost party that never stops!

  2. Jason Y

    Long hair hasn’t come back, but definitely beards have.

  3. bob

    Give peace a chance?!?!
    What and upset the war machine? Heresy!

  4. Jason Y

    “All we are saying,……, is give HATE a chance.” lol

  5. Jason Y

    The peace thing can be a deception though. One minute you got peace and the next Ozzy Osbourne, skinheads, and Charles Manson. Also, I don’t think Brian Wilson was in his right mind for years after the 60s.

Leave a Reply

