Letter from a Rodbuster

This new comment appeared on one of Alpha’s older stories, Rodbusters. I thought it was good enough that I am going to share it with you. I love it when working class men come to my site and tell us about their lives and work. If this site is anything, it is pro-working class, pro-prole. I would also say that if the Alternative Left is anything at all, it is also pro-working class and pro-prole. If that doesn’t describe you, I do not think you belong on the Alternative Left. You can always just vote Republican or DNC if that’s the case.

PS. I also rather like his writing style. It’s interesting how often working class men can write surprisingly well.

Rod buster from Canada here,

Well put good sir.

I have had the misfortune to work non union for the first year of my career, it’s worse than you think.

All weather, dirty, grueling, dangerous conditions, are the same union or not. But having to work on the top of a high-rise during a lightning storm because they refused to shut the job down because they couldn’t afford delays (for $16 an hour!!) was an eye opener that sometimes the hardest workers are valued the least, and you are seen as simply a vessel for making money.

All things aside, there is a huge satisfaction in knowing that your skillset can literally build a skyscraper with your own bare hands. And that’s something that not everyone can say.

Thankfully I work union now, but I really feel for the guys who I used to work with who don’t have the same rights and protections that I get.

Roddies are some of the most colorful individuals that you will ever meet. We may butt heads occasionally, but at the end of the day, almost nobody can lift a 40′ piece of 35m by themselves.

You have to work as a team, end of story. So rebar can be thought of as almost like an extreme team sport. To the greenhorns on your crew, there is a somewhat cruel necessity to weed out the weak. So everyone gets hazed to one extent or another, and if you aren’t thick skinned, and you aren’t a team player, you have no business being there, and you will know within the first few days that not everyone has the heart to be a rodman.

It is a job that will push you to your breaking point and then mock you every step of the way, and if you aren’t headstrong, you will not make it. It’s brutal and unforgiving, but at the same time, one of the most unforgettable experiences is to have come out on top.

It has its own rewards I guess. Knowing that your blood, sweat and tears created something that will be there long after you are gone.

That’s why I’m proud to have earned the right to call myself a rodbuster.

Leave a comment

Filed under Labor, Left, Politics

Leave a Reply

