A Case of Schizotypal Personality Disorder

From here, an apparent case of Schizotypal Personality Disorder. I do not understand this disorder very well. It seems like they might have something wrong with their brains. It is much more common in close relatives of those with schizophrenia. It almost looks like a very mild form of schizophrenic illness. I’ve never had a client with this problem, I’ve never seen a case of it in my life and I would have a hard time diagnosing it.

If there is something wrong with their brains, then why call it a personality disorder? Is there any evidence that this is actually a defensive structure or personality style as opposed to more of an Axis 1 type symptom-based rather than Axis 2 core-based illness?

Although I have never seen a case of it, this case history looks remarkably like what I think it looks like. Note that this man has received two diagnoses from afar, Paranoid Schizophrenia and Schizotypal Personality Disorder. Paranoid Schizophrenia is not correct. An unmedicated full blown Paranoid Schizophrenic would not have been regularly employed for long after the onset of illness. He would not have married three times and fathered a son after the onset of illness. His behavior and attire would not remarkably improve after a woman married him and could more or less take care of him. An untreated schizophrenic would not have it together no matter how much mothering his wife gave him.

This man has never been hospitalized or diagnosed and I doubt if he has ever set foot in a clinician’s office. Part of the problem with getting types to come in is that they are so nuts and paranoid and they literally are too crazy and suspicious to come in to see a clinician. Obviously the clinician is one of the enemies who is plotting against him. This man obviously doesn’t think there is anything wrong with him, so that’s another reason why he will never show up.
I think it is quite clear that this man is not normal in any way, shape or form and he is so ill that his behavior goes way beyond eccentricity and free-sprited Bohemian creative type all the way off into serious pathology and craziness. It looks like this illness also limits his life in some pretty important ways too. But apparently he doesn’t think he has a problem. If there’s any problem, apparently it’s with other people. Which is pretty Axis 2-like right there.

My dad is very messed up. Extremely. He was abusive and traumatized my whole family.

His appearance is pretty eccentric. His hair and beard are wild and stained from cigarettes. He wears really dirty clothes covered in industrial glue or varnish from his job…in public. This all goes away if his wife (who he’s had three of) takes care of him.

He has really intense, sometimes bizarre beliefs about politics. I remember him once calling me up to talk about how his wife was “stealing his liberty.” As in, the liberty due him from the founding fathers of the US.

He’s paranoid to an extreme. He used to throw the telephone away because he thought people were listening. He thinks that people stalk him. He thinks co-workers are secretly taking nude photos of him and putting them on the internet. I can tell you he has NEVER used a computer let alone the internet…all because he’s paranoid.

He used to call me up after watching a news report about terrorism to warn me about the NYC subway I take to work everyday. I tried to reassure him by telling him my particular train is not a target because it isn’t well used. He told me that’s what, “they wanted me to think.”

He strongly dislikes most institutions: banks, universities, governments,

He has no friends at all. Never has.

He spends his time in basements or attics.

He’s very smart, but has no interest in making money to support himself.

My mom and his former wife, an LCSW, think he’s schizophrenic. My therapist says he sounds like schizotypal.

BUT…if you asked if he was paranoid, he’d say no. If you asked if he was eccentric, he’d say he just thinks differently from most people (with a kind of superior attitude). If you asked why he doesn’t have friends, he’d say he prefers being alone.

Regardless, anyone else can easily see that he’s really, seriously, an odd person.

Any of this make sense to people dx with schizotypal?

7 Comments

Filed under Mental Illness, Personality Disorders, Psychology, Psychopathology, Psychotherapy, Psychotic Disorders, Schizophrenia, Schizotypal

7 responses to “A Case of Schizotypal Personality Disorder

  1. Juliette Kochenderfer-Moore

    It’s pretty much just another form of schizophrenia, but comes across as a markedly milder version, because I don’t think these people get visual or auditory hallucinations at all – they just act very goofy and hyperactive. “Word salads”; very little impulse control/ability to “filter” their thoughts in social situations, thus weirding people out; odd modes of speech, dress, and beliefs which are rarely cause for any great emotional anguish. I don’t think they have paranoid delusions to any great extent, and if so, the delusions are usually not a threat to society. If anything, they just annoy the people around them to no end. I’ve known people like this in my life, and they were usually completely harmless, many of them former acid-heads and kooky Vietnam vets. I had a buddy in high school who fit these symptoms, though I don’t want to label the guy. He was a nice kid, two grades younger than me. He had a hilarious laugh. Very quirky and “out there,” but I was pretty quirky myself, so I didn’t really mind his behavior.

    In my opinion, this is just another example of a bogus, made-up “disorder” like Schizoid, which should probably just be viewed as a normal personality variation. A person with this “disorder” can usually hold down a job, and possibly even have a successful relationship and friendships with people who are also a bit on the “offbeat” side. It is also interesting to note that while Schizoids are almost always extremely introverted, Schizotypals are usually extroverts when in a social setting. They want everyone in the immediate vicinity, even total strangers, to know their (often bizarre) opinions on a myriad of subjects, and can expound endlessly on them, LOL. People like the psychic Sylvia Browne and the author David Icke would probably be classified as Schizotypal… I just call them “unique individuals.” Vive la difference!

    • I do not understand this disorder very well and I have never known anyone who had it. I think most of these people would be a lot better off if they did not have this problem or if they could take something that cleared up a lot of their symptoms. There’s really no benefit to being so fuckin weird that you turn off, alienate, repel and are rejected by most everyone around you. I get that sort of thing myself, and it is a source of a lot of misery for me.

      It’s so obvious that these people have something wrong with their brains. And if it is a mild form of schizophrenia, which it may well be, then that is an illness. Schizophrenia is an illness.

      A lot of schizotypals probably have a hard time working and I imagine a lot of them are unemployed.

      Schizotypal PD can be associated with some pretty serious social withdrawal also.

      I believe I am talking to a woman right now who has it and trust me, her behavior is not adaptive at all. She is not employed and lives off some social program.

      I see you do not believe in psychiatry but I suppose that is ok. I am sympathetic to that view a bit. I do not see why someone who is simply extremely introverted and wishes to be a total loner must get a dx called “Schizoid Personality Disorder.” Why is the desire to be a total loner an illness? I do not believe it is.

  2. Lion of the Judah-sphere

    A lot of psychiatric diagnoses are made up, but some of them are genuine. Problem is, we’re not at the point in the progression of science to help a lot these people.

  3. Franco

    Asperger syndrome plus schizotypal personality disorder. Yes, official psychiatry will not accept their co-occurrence. Neither will it accept the co-occurrence of Asperger plus schizoid personality disorder, which is my case.

  4. Nicholas

    I was diagnosed with schizotypal personality disorder. If you have any questions, just ask.

Leave a Reply

