Strangeness on the Beach in Jamaica

Video here.

I don’t understand this video. Is she enjoying it, or is she getting mad? Are those guys having fun, or is this a form or hostility? The link I clicked to take me to this video said, “White woman humiliated on beach in Jamaica.” There is supposedly a name for this sort “dancing,” and it’s normal to dance like this in hip-hop dance halls in the UK, where the dancers are probably mostly Jamaicans.

This is called “daggering” or “muh-dicking,” and is popular in dance-hall culture in Jamaica. However, people are trying to replicate the extreme sexual moves of daggering in the bedroom and there have been many cases of damaged penises over the past year. Some of the injuries have been permanent. Yes, you can break your dick, and it’s not funny at all. Injury usually happens during sex, and you need to get to an emergency room right away. Woman on top is the usual position.

20 Comments

Filed under Americas, Caribbean, Culture, Jamaica, Latin America, Music, Pop Culture, Regional, Sex, Weirdness

20 responses to “Strangeness on the Beach in Jamaica

  1. Steve

    here is a video of the same rolling on the floor and humping and its obviously the style of ‘dancing’. They’re both black too. Its not as rough though.

  2. Steve

    that’s like the extreme of sexualising dancing. just not a trace of subtlety.

  3. Steve

    I’ve got a theory that black people really do have better rhythm. In a hot place like Africa, people could spend a lot of time dancing around half naked. Dancing formed an integral part of the culture and rituals. In Europe, people were sitting around a fire or in a cave, fully clothed half the time. The importance of dancing to African culture means that Africans have gone through thousands of years of sexual selection for good rhythm and dancing ability.

    I’ve seen lots of black people and some black children with what looks to me like a very high level of natural rhythm. White people just don’t seem to have it quite the same way.

    what do you think?

    • White men can’t dance, and Black folks got rhythm all right. I guess I’m a RACIST for saying that, right? Sheesh.

      • Steve

        do you think I’m onto something with my explanation though?

        • NonKoolAidDrinker

          no. First of all, the white “race” didn’t evolve in the frigid north, it evolved in the mild temperate climates of the Mediteranean basin and the Levant. The idea that white people have no rhythm is BS, anyway. Some of the best drummers in history have been white. Some of the best dancers in history have been white.

        • Steve

          name the best dancers in history who have been white.

          btw I never said they had no rhythm. I just said they had inferior rhythym, in general, which would allow for some whites with a lot of rhythm. Also, the whites not dancing because of the cold isn’t an essential part of the theory (although whites have spent a long time in Europe where there are mild or cold winters and there was an ice age). Dancing is an integral part of African tribal culture and has been for a long time. They dance in a very visceral, rhythmic way. Europeans don’t have the same dancing traditions.

          I only know what I see. All the best dancers I’ve seen have been black, apart from ballroom dancing. I’ve seen some black people dance with a level of rhythm I’m sure I’ve never seen from a white person. I’ve seen a some black kids dance with amazing rhythm I’ve never seen from white kids. It just seems natural to them. Even the rappers have great natural rhythm when they move about.

          You would be saying black people aren’t faster sprinters if it wasn’t practically indisputable. Why would you expect people from different continents who have so many different genes for their bodies but to have identical abilities in every way?

        • Steve

          I might be wrong but that’s how it looks to me. And if its true I’d guess it must have happened through sexual selection rather than natural selection.

        • NonKoolAidDrinker

          name the best dancers in history who have been white

          I DIDN’T SAY THE BEST DANCERS WERE WHITE. I SAID SOME OF THEM WERE WHITE. GENE KELLY FOR EXAMPLE. .

          btw I never said they had no rhythm. I just said they had inferior rhythym, in general, which would allow for some whites with a lot of rhythm.
          WHY PICK ON WHITES? ALL NON-AFRICANS HAVE INFERIOR RHYTHM TO AFRICANS. SOME ASIAN GROUPS SEEM UTTERLY DEVOID OF IT. WHITES AT LEAST CAN KEEP UP WITH BLACKS.

          Also, the whites not dancing because of the cold isn’t an essential p
          art of the theory (although whites have spent a long time in Europe where there are mild or cold winters and there was an ice age). Dancing is an integral part of African tribal culture and has been for a long time. They dance in a very visceral, rhythmic way. Europeans don’t have the same dancing traditions.

          EUROPEAN PEOPLE HAVE A DANCING TRADITION, TOO. FOLK DANCING, SWORD DANCING ETC. I’M SURE THE PAGAN TRIBES HAD THEIR TRIBAL DANCING JUST LIKE ALL TRIBAL PEOPLE. THE ICE AGE HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH EUROPEAN DEVELOPEMENT. DURING THE ICE AGE THE ANCESTORS OF MODERN DAY EUROPEANS WERE IN SPAIN, THE BALKANS, SOUTHERN RUSSIA AND THE MIDDLE EAST.

          I only know what I see. All the best dancers I’ve seen have been black, apart from ballroom dancing. I’ve seen some black people dance with a level of rhythm I’m sure I’ve never seen from a white person. I’ve seen a some black kids dance with amazing rhythm I’ve never seen from white kids. It just seems natural to them. Even the rappers have great natural rhythm when they move about

          OBVIOUSLY, RAPPERS HAVE GREAT RHYTHM. THAT’S WHY THEY BECAME RAPPERS! ARE YOU SAYING THAT ANY RANDOM BLACK PERSON OFF THE STREET CAN RAP LIKE ICE CUBE?

          You would be saying black people aren’t faster sprinters if it wasn’t practically indisputable. Why would you expect people from different continents who have so many different genes for their bodies but to have identical abilities in every way?

          I WOULD NEVER SAY THAT BLACK PEOPLE WEREN’T FASTER SPRINTERS THAN WHITES. WOULD YOU DENY THAT WHITES HAVE MORE UPPER BODY STRENGTH THAN BLACKS? THE OLYMPICS PROVE IT.

        • Steve

          ‘THE ICE AGE HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH EUROPEAN DEVELOPEMENT. DURING THE ICE AGE THE ANCESTORS OF MODERN DAY EUROPEANS WERE IN SPAIN, THE BALKANS, SOUTHERN RUSSIA AND THE MIDDLE EAST’

          So northern Europe was unpopulated during the ice age? And southern Europe was warm?

          Look at white skin and features and body fat and length of limbs. Adaptations to a colder climate and less sunshine. The ancestors of white people probably had less occasion than Africans to dance around a fire naked. I think that’s probably fair to say.

          ‘I’M SURE THE PAGAN TRIBES HAD THEIR TRIBAL DANCING’

          Maybe but did they dance as much or in the same way?

          ‘WHY PICK ON WHITES? ALL NON-AFRICANS HAVE INFERIOR RHYTHM TO AFRICANS’

          Oh, so you admit it.

          ‘OBVIOUSLY, RAPPERS HAVE GREAT RHYTHM. THAT’S WHY THEY BECAME RAPPERS! ARE YOU SAYING THAT ANY RANDOM BLACK PERSON OFF THE STREET CAN RAP LIKE ICE CUBE?’

          I’m talking about movement, not rapping. Even if the particular evolutionary explanation I gave is wrong, I still think for whatever reason they have great rhythm. I’ve just seen a level of rhythm from several black dancers I don’t believe I’ve ever seen from any white person. Those black dancers I’m talking about, its like they don’t just have rhythm, they are rhythm. I believe I’ve seen a higher level of rhythm from black people generally. They just seem to have it. I don’t think its just cultural. My guess is sexual selection was the mechanism over a long period of time in a tribal dancing culture. Again, I might be wrong about this. It just looks that way to me.

          ‘WOULD YOU DENY THAT WHITES HAVE MORE UPPER BODY STRENGTH THAN BLACKS? THE OLYMPICS PROVE IT.’

          Quite a few of the drug tested powerlifting world records are held by black men. However, most of the world’s strongest men winners have been white and eastern Europeans in particular dominate the
          powerlifting rankings. I’m not willing to go as far as to say at this point that white men are stronger but I don’t think they are weaker.

          I am white by the way. I’m just not really bothered if black people are better dancers.

          BTW WHY ARE YOU SHOUTING?

        • Steve

          oh btw even if Europeans had tribal dancing, how long have they gone since then without it? That could be significant. We might have been better dancers in the past. Just an idea.

  4. tulio

    Daggering is popular in the dancehalls or Kingston. But don’t let this fool you. Jamaica is actually quite a religious and conservative society. I was talking to a Jamaican guy about this stuff. Both the Christians and the Rastas look down on daggering and the dancehall subculture.

    • Dota

      I had a few Jamaican friends in college. Very religious. Didn’t even drink.
      And welcome back T. Life keeping you busy?

      • tulio

        It’s funny that everyone is saying “welcome back”. I don’t feel like I went anywhere.

        But yeah, people think Jamaicans are way crazier than they actually are because of the dancehall thing. I even used to think it before a Jamaican guy broke down what it’s really like. I thought that I could maybe even fly down to Jamaica for a week and be in pussy paradise based on these videos, but according to him, scoring with the girls there isn’t easy if you aren’t in her social network. And I hear Jamaican women are boring in bed anyway. Very conservative and missionary only.

  5. pam32

    Livingstone describes another dance:

    Bechuana Reed Dance, by Moonlight”

    The dance consists of the men standing nearly naked in a circle, with clubs or small battle-axes in their hands, and each roaring at the loudest pitch of his voice, while they simultaneously lift one leg, stamp heavily twice with it, then lift the other and give one stamp with that; this is the only movement in common.
    The arms and head are thrown about also in every direction; and all this roaring is kept up with the utmost possible vigour; the continued stamping makes a cloud of dust ascend, and they leave a deep ring in the ground where they have stood.
    If the scene were witnessed in a lunatic asylum it would be nothing out of the way, and quite appropriate even, as a means of letting off the excessive excitement of the brain . . . [p. 225]
    http://libweb5.princeton.edu/visual_materials/maps/websites/africa/livingstone/livingstone-images.html

  6. tulio

    A similar kind of dancing is popular in Brazil too.

Leave a Reply

